[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

comp.lang.limbo passes 191:17



                                RESULT
           unmoderated group comp.lang.limbo passes 191:17

There were 191 YES votes and 17 NO votes, for a total of 208 valid votes.
There was 1 invalid ballot.

For group passage, YES votes must be at least 2/3 of all valid (YES and NO)
votes.   There also must be at least 100 more YES votes than NO votes.

There is a five day discussion period after these results are posted.  If no
serious allegations of voting irregularities are raised, the moderator of
news.announce.newgroups will create the group shortly thereafter.

Newsgroups line:
comp.lang.limbo		The Inferno OS's Limbo programming language.

The voting period closed at 23:59:59 UTC, 21 Feb 1997.

This vote was conducted by a neutral third party.  Direct questions
about the proposed group to the proponent.  Do not distribute this CFV or the
information contained in it in any form without the votetaker's permission.

Proponent: Rogers Cadenhead <rogers@prefect.com>
Proponent: Qusay H. Mahmoud <k3is@unbsj.ca>
Proponent: Grey <gangli@webzonecom.com>
Proponent: Eric Grosse <ehg@research.bell-labs.com>
Proponent: Jean-David Marrow <pachydrm@ix.netcom.com>
Proponent: Jerry Lee Pearson <jpearson@JLC.net>
Proponent: Piroz Mohseni <mohseni@lucent.com>
Votetaker: Jani Patokallio <jpatokal@alpha.hut.fi>

RATIONALE: comp.lang.limbo

Since the Inferno developers kit has become available on the World
Wide Web, its programming language -- Limbo -- has been the source of
discussion by programmers attempting to learn the language and create
applications with it. Inferno was developed by Bell Labs, the
organization that pioneered both C and UNIX. The Inferno mailing list
is thriving, and Inferno-related matters such as Limbo continue to be
discussed on groups such as comp.lang.java.misc,
comp.lang.java.advocacy and comp.os.plan9.

A survey of comp.lang.java, comp.lang.java.misc and
comp.lang.java.advocacy on Dejanews finds 134 messages that mention
Inferno. Another 186 messages about Inferno were found in the
comp.os.plan9 newsgroup.

The proponents of this newsgroup, as listed at the end of this
document, believe that Limbo has proven its suitability for a new
Usenet group.

CHARTER: comp.lang.limbo

The comp.lang.limbo newsgroup is devoted to discussions of the Limbo
programming language, developed by Bell Labs for use with the Inferno
operating system, and related issues.

Examples of relevant postings would include, but not be limited to,
the following subjects:

* Bug reports
* Announcements of software written with Limbo
* Examples of Limbo code
* Suggestions for Limbo developers
* Requests for help from new Limbo programmers

The newsgroup is not moderated, but messages that qualify as net abuse
according to the standards established in news.admin.net-abuse.misc
are subject to deletion. This includes make-money-fast messages,
Shergold card requests and messages that exceed the Breidbart Index
regarding excessive multiple postings.

END CHARTER.

comp.lang.limbo Final Vote Ack

Voted Yes
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
a82@iwd.uni-bremen.de                                             Henner Gratz
abbtnd@erols.com                                                Paul MacDonald
adam@paramedx.demon.co.uk                                          Adam Lovick
adisaacs@mtu.edu                                               Andrew Isaacson
adric@mindspring.com                                       Ben S. Knowles</DT>
aflundi@sandia.gov                                                 Alan Lundin
amdraht!mfx@DasBuro.Com                                       Markus Freericks
amk@magnet.com                                                 Andrew Kuchling
angel@vivaldi.Princeton.EDU                             Miguel Angel Sepulveda
antonio.pedro@portugal.ncr.com                             Antonio Pedro Silva
arnold@colorstar.com                                         Arnold D. Robbins
Arnold_Abalos@brown.edu                                          Arnold Abalos
arons@panix.com                                                  Stephen Arons
ARTEM_LETKO@HP-Russia-om1.om.hp.com
Arthur.Chance@Smallworld.co.uk                                   Arthur Chance
Axel.Belinfante@cs.utwente.nl                                  Axel Belinfante
azcb0@juno.uts.amdahl.com                                      Alistair Crooks
BALAJI@platinum.com                                           Balaji Srinivasa
bedmonds@cs.ubc.ca                                               Brian Edmonds
Bengt.Kleberg@uab.ericsson.se                                    Bengt Kleberg
beyler@lucent.com                                                  Eric Beyler
bheckle@mfa.com                                                    Bill Heckle
blowrey@pinnsoft.com                                              Bryan Lowrey
boldt@cardinal.math.ucsb.edu                                        Axel Boldt
bonomi@delta.ece.nwu.edu                                         Robert Bonomi
borek@mda.ca                                                     Michael Borek
bri@blah.math.tu-graz.ac.at                                         Brian Ward
brock@nexen.com                                                  Neil A. Brock
brucee@dante.mh.lucent.com                                         Bruce Ellis
carrbc@darmok.uthscsa.edu                                        Brian C. Carr
caves@yorvic.york.ac.uk                                              Leo Caves
cfy@dante.mh.lucent.com                                christopher f. yurkoski
chris@cjl1.demon.co.uk
chris@dev.infomkt.ibm.com                                 Christopher A. Smith
ChrisR@netcom.ca                                              Christian Ravera
ckk@hedgehog.df.lth.se                                     Christian Kullander
clarisse@lucent.com                                           Olivier Clarisse
Claude.Lecommandeur@Epfl.Ch                                Claude Lecommandeur
clay@dante.mh.lucent.com                                        D. Clay Wilson
cmcurtin@research.megasoft.com                                C Matthew Curtin
crosby@nordsieck.cs.colorado.edu                                Matthew Crosby
D.M.Pick@qmw.ac.uk                                                    D.M.Pick
d92-dne@nada.kth.se                                                Daniel Neri
d@cube.ice.net                                                 Dave McCuistion
daj@dante.mh.lucent.com                                            Don Johnson
dao@daoConsulting.com                                             David Osborn
David.Lukes@bzw.com                                           Paul David Lukes
dbk@dante.mh.lucent.com                                         Donald Knudsen
DBlowe01@kepler.poly.edu                                          Daryl Blowes
dbort@jake-low.csh.rit.edu                                          David Bort
dc@panix.com                                                 David W. Crawford
dcrudup@sure.net                                               De Tavio Crudup
de5@sws5.ctd.ornl.gov                                                Dave Sill
dirk.muysers@innovation.capgemini.fr                              Dirk Muysers
doc@isr.umd.edu                                                David Chancogne
dplewis@worldnet.att.net                                       Darrin P. Lewis
dr@private.nethead.co.uk                                        David Robinson
ds@cafemail.symantec.com                                          D'Arcy Smith
eggert@twinsun.com                                                 Paul Eggert
ehg@bell-labs.com                     Eric Grosse <ehg@research.bell-labs.com>
erhodes@ctron.com                                                Edward Rhodes
ericvh@dante.mh.lucent.com                                 Eric Van Hensbergen
ETXS.ETXBRJN@MESMTPSE.ericsson.se                               Bror Johansson
fgergo@eik.bme.hu                                             Gergely Fodemesi
forsyth@plan9.cs.york.ac.uk                                    Charles Forsyth
fst@real.com                                     Fariborz \"Skip\" Tavakkolian
fwmiller@cs.umd.edu                                            Frank W. Miller
gangli@webzonecom.com                                                  gang li
gilem@wsg.net                                                  Michael R. Gile
gonzo@ing.puc.cl                                              Gonzalo Diethelm
gwyn@ARL.MIL                                                   Douglas A. Gwyn
haahr@netcom.com                                                    Paul Haahr
harri.johansson@hpy.fi                                         Harri Johansson
hopwood@zetnet.co.uk                                             David Hopwood
hsauer@marnie.teuto.de                                           Henning Sauer
humper@phoenix.Princeton.EDU                              Grigori R. Humphreys
ianb@jumper.mcc.ac.uk                                             Ian Beckwith
ianbruce@lucent.com                                                  Ian Bruce
ibic.gregor@eunet.si                                               Gregor Ibic
imurdock@lib.purdue.edu                                            Ian Murdock
jamesh@interpath.com                                              James Hughes
jays@panix.com                                                  Jay Sulzberger
jaz@itvcorp.com                                 Joe Zott</bigger></fontfamily>
jeffm@eznet.net                                                   Jeff Mahoney
jhitt@osn.net                                                   Justin W. Hitt
jhuang@dante.mh.lucent.com                                      Jules G. Huang
ji@math.jyu.fi                                                   Jonne Itkonen
jjd@primenet.com                                                James J. Davis
jkalat@ix.netcom.com                                                John Kalat
jm@mime.univ-paris8.fr                                              Jean Mehat
jmw@research.att.com                                                Jim Wilson
joar@ludd.luth.se                                                 Joar Nilsson
johan.wikman@research.nokia.com                          Wikman Johan  NRC/Hki
john@altair.comoc.com                                           John Pritchard
john@vitanuova.com                                                  John Bates
juhni@kianto.suomussalmi.fi                                      Juha Niskanen
julesd@fwb.gulf.net                                               Jules Dubois
kboyes@multipath.com                                               Kevin Boyes
ken@digitas.harvard.edu                                               Ken Shan
ken@stox.pr.mcs.net                                            Kenneth P. Stox
kerch@parc.xerox.com                                           Berry Kercheval
Kevin.Mayes@mailhost.dpie.gov.au                                     Kev Mayes
khardy@ips.iac.honeywell.com                                       Keith Hardy
kimdv@netcom.com                                                  Kim DeVaughn
kmckinla@ochin.on.ca                                        Kenneth I McKinlay
koshy@india.hp.com                                              A JOSEPH KOSHY
larryr@dante.mh.lucent.com                                           Larry Rau
lbfrede@qdot.qld.gov.au                                      Laust Frederiksen
les@mail.csh.rit.edu                                             Les Rosenberg
llechelle@teaser.fr                                           Laurent LECHELLE
luke@chico-low.csh.rit.edu                                       luke crawford
lutherh@stratcom.com                                            Luther Huffman
lvirden@cas.org                                                Larry W. Virden
magnus@ii.uib.no                                             Magnus Y Alvestad
Markus.Friedl@informatik.uni-erlangen.de                         Markus Friedl
mccoskey@nidlink.com                Mark David McCoskey <mccoskey@nidlink.com>
mcjones@pa.dec.com                                             Paul R. McJones
mcmay@expert-market.com                                            Matthew May
mharriso@utdallas.edu                                          Mark A Harrison
micah@mail.csh.rit.edu                                            Micah Gideon
mig@plan9.bell-labs.com                                         Matt Greenwood
mike@bell-labs.com                                       Michael Scott Baldwin
mike_trogni@il.us.swissbank.com                                    Mike Trogni
miller@hamnavoe.demon.co.uk                                     Richard Miller
millert@home.courtesan.com                                      Todd C. Miller
mmissire@best.com                                                 Marc Missire
mmjmc@cc.flinders.edu.au                                           J.M.Cooling
mtpins@isca.uiowa.edu                                           Michael T Pins
mw@ipx2.rz.uni-mannheim.de                                      Marc Wachowitz
mzimmerm@worldchat.com                                        Milan Zimmermann
nathan@openeye.com                                              nathan solomon
nawaz921@cs.uidaho.edu                                            faried nawaz
neb@kdps.com                                                        Ben Singer
nir@nsof.co.il                                                       Nir Peleg
nknauft@lucent.com                                                Nancy Knauft
nms@nns.ru                                                      Nickolay Saukh
og@stardivision.de                                             Otfried Geffert
oliva@dcc.unicamp.br                                           Alexandre Oliva
os@cs.utwente.nl                                                 Daniel van Os
pace@cs.ucdavis.edu
pachydrm@ix.netcom.com                                       jean-david marrow
phil@vision25.demon.co.uk                                            Phil Hunt
philw@plan9.bell-labs.com                                    Phil Winterbottom
pimentel@ultranet.com                                            John Pimentel
porttikivi@dlc.fi                         Anssi Porttikivi <porttikivi@dlc.fi>
pphalen@crl.com                                                 Patrick Phalen
pw@cacs.usl.edu                                           Pirawat Watanapongse
quentin@dvorak.amd.com                                        Quentin Fennessy
ralph@ycrdi.com                                                     Ralph Muha
rogers@prefect.com                                             Rogers Cadenhead
recdmj@arhsgi1.uni-c.dk                                          Dan M. Jensen
repitt@lucent.com                                              Randall E. Pitt
rgg@dune.tid.es                                             Raul Garcia Garcia
richardc@cs.utah.edu                                            Richard Coffey
rnarang@fir.fbc.com                                              Rajeev Narang
robby@epc.co.uk                                                 Robert Raschke
rog@ohm.york.ac.uk                                                 Roger Peppe
rpagano@ibm.net                                                  Robert Pagano
rsb@reclus.nhh.no                                                 Roger Bivand
rsc@research.att.com                                                  Russ Cox
rsi@lucent.com                                                    Rajappa Iyer
s.budd@ic.ac.uk
sape@styx.huygens.org                                        Sape J. Mullender
shankar@dnrc.bell-labs.com                               Shankar Narayanaswamy
sharma@dante.mh.lucent.com             Ravi Sharma <ravi.sharma@bell-labs.com>
srb@dante.mh.lucent.com                                   Steven R. Breitstein
stamper@stamper.com                                              Chris Stamper
stephen@stephen.uk.eu.org                                       stephen parker
steve@border.com                                             Steve Kotsopoulos
Steve_Kilbane@cegelecproj.co.uk
stschepe@dma.be                                                Stefan Schepers
stuart@cosc.canterbury.ac.nz                                     Stuart Yeates
stuhlmacher@lucent.com                                     James R Stuhlmacher
tad@chico-low.csh.rit.edu                                             Tad Hunt
taweil@skat.usc.edu                                                  Ta-Wei Li
tbos@cs.utwente.nl                                                    Ties Bos
tgraham@infopro.net                                                 Tom Graham
thetrekguy@aol.com                                              Bradford Brown
tiksa@iki.fi                                                     Timo Partanen
tm@netcom.com                                                 Toshiyasu Morita
tpk@sensorsys.com                                                Ted Kochanski
vmialum@erols.com                                                   Hugh Brien
vsharma@hss.hns.com                                        vsharma@hss.hns.com
westergren@lucent.com                                         Bruce Westergren
willite@uf9623p01.DallasTX.ncr.com                           Terry R. Williams
woods@planix.com                                                 Greg A. Woods
wstuart@hdvs.com                                                William Stuart
yo@das.harvard.edu                                              Yuri Ostrovsky
yusufg@iss.nus.sg                                            Yusuf Goolamabbas
zee@dante.mh.lucent.com                                                Inferno
zot@ampersand.com                                                  Mark Atwood

Voted No
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
afabbro@umich.edu                                                Andrew Fabbro
booda@datasync.com                                             Martin H. Booda
gchapman@irus.rri.uwo.ca                                          Greg Chapman
gpr96002@uconnvm.uconn.edu                                           G.P. Ryan
jsi@idiom.com                                                    Michael Craft
marquez@pacbell.net                                              Aaron Marquez
mhatz@raven.phs.com                                                  Mike Hatz
natalie@col.hp.com                                              Natalie Ramsey
nick@cimio.co.uk                                                 Nick Waterman
nick@inferno.fc.hp.com                                          Nick Ingegneri
olav@viking.mv.com                                             Olav Nieuwejaar
patl@lcs.mit.edu                                           Patrick J. LoPresti
rick@bcm.tmc.edu                                             Richard H. Miller
spoilsport@earthlink.net                                              Sam Ault
stainles@bga.com                                                  Dwight Brown
TheWebBook@aol.com                                           C. Marcus Durrett
tlawson@amug.org                                                Todd C. Lawson


Votes in error
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
POSTMASTER@research.nokia.com                      RESEARCH/NRCMAIN/POSTMASTER
   ! Invalid address

DISTRIBUTION:

In addition to the groups named in the Newsgroups: header, the CFV
and the eventual RESULT posts will be mailed to these mailing lists:

    inferno <inferno@interstice.com>

-- 
Jani Patokallio <jpatokal@alpha.hut.fi>
Voting address: <voting@hut.fi>